NEWS RELEASE

Steve Marshall Alabama Attorney General



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 12, 2024

For **press** inquiries only, contact:
Amanda Priest (334) 322-5694
William Califf (334) 604-3230
Page 1 of 2

Attorney General Steve Marshall Announces 2024 Safe Schools Initiative Awards Winners

(Montgomery, Ala) – Alabama Attorney General Steve Marshall today announced the winners of the 2024 Safe Schools Initiative Awards. The selection process featured a comprehensive four phase application and review process by highly educated judges who have skill and knowledge in school safety trends. Six schools from across the State of Alabama were selected to receive the Safe School Award, the highest achievement. Attorney General Marshall will visit each school to present their award in person.

"The safety of our schoolchildren is always on the forefront of our minds and hearts. That is why it is important to highlight and promote the innovative efforts to improve student safety through the Alabama Safe Schools Initiative," Attorney General Steve Marshall said. "These six schools have developed innovative programs and taken practical, effective steps to combat the threat of violence that has become a terrible part of our modern society. Their dedication and resolve to provide a safe environment for learning is an inspiration to us all. I look forward to continuing to spotlight the best school safety ideas for school administrators, resource officers, parents and students."

2024 Safe School Award Winners

- Orange Beach Middle & High School, Orange Beach
- UMS-Wright Preparatory School, Mobile
- Ladonia Elementary School, Phenix City
- Russellville Elementary School, Russellville
- Cullman City Primary School, Cullman
- Elvin Hill Elementary School, Columbiana

Eight additional schools exceeded the minimum state requirements and exhibited dedication to higher standards for student learning, mental health, and safety. These schools were recognized by receiving a congratulatory letter and certificate from the Attorney General.

2024 Silver Model of Enhanced School Safety Award

- Orange Beach Elementary School, Orange Beach
- Mount Olive Primary School, Fort Mitchell
- Allen Thornton Career Technical Center, Killen
- Eastwood Elementary School, Decatur
- Coosa Valley Academy, Harpersville
- Harriette W. Gwin Elementary School, Hoover



2024 Bronze Model of Enhanced School Safety Award

- Lauderdale County Student Success Center, Florence
- Discovery Middle School, Madison