Home >

May 5, 2017

For More Information, contact:
Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199
Steven T. Marshall
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Page 1 of 1
Alabama Attorney General

(MONTGOMERY) – Attorney General Steven T. Marshall today presented Advent
Episcopal School in Birmingham with the 2016 Attorney General’s Safe School Initiative Award
of Excellence for private school in the northern region of Alabama. Schools were selected as
winners from seven* Alabama State School Board of Education districts, as well as private
schools for two regions of the state.
“I am pleased to carry forward an important tradition of the Attorney General’s Office,
to recognize schools throughout our state for dedication and excellence in keeping students
safe,” said Attorney General Marshall. “Each day that parents leave their children at school,
they are entrusting what they hold most precious into the care of schoolteachers, principals and
other staff. With these awards, we honor those who have achieved particularly high standards
and set examples that others may follow. We are grateful for their service and commitment to
protecting the children of Alabama.”
“The Attorney General’s Office is proud that Advent Episcopal School was selected as
one of the nine winning schools in Alabama for 2016,” said Attorney General Marshall. “In
making this decision, judges noted many things that distinguished Advent Episcopal School:
its CAPS program, a strong plan that is inclusive of law enforcement, excellent use of
technology, impressive web-based communication system and good student involvement.”
“This award recognizes that Advent understands the importance of the physical and
emotional security of those in our charge,” said Headmaster W. Palmer Kennedy. “While we
have a staff that is responsible daily for measures that protect our children, our Advent
community appreciates that safety is everyone’s responsibility. On behalf of the faculty and
staff, I would like to thank our parents for their trust and support. I would like to thank our
community for providing the resources that allow us to enhance our facilities and enrich our
student’s programs. We are all interconnected and one of our greatest strengths is the support
we give each other.”
Attorney General Marshall is presenting awards for the 2016 Safe School Awards of
Excellence winners to the nine winning schools during April and May. Other winning schools
throughout the state include Helena Middle School in Shelby County, Pike County High School,
Orange Beach Elementary School in Baldwin County, Opelika Middle School in Lee County,
Forest Hills Elementary School in Lauderdale County, Bob Jones High School in Madison
County, Coosa Valley Academy in Shelby County and Moody Middle School in St. Clair
*Alabama has eight public school districts but no submissions were received from District 4, nor a southern district
private school.
501 Washington Avenue * Montgomery, AL 36104 * (334) 242-7300