Home >

May 8, 2017

For More Information, contact:
Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199
Steven T. Marshall
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Page 1 of 1
Alabama Attorney General

(MONTGOMERY) – Attorney General Steven T. Marshall today presented Forest Hills
Elementary School in Florence with the 2016 Attorney General’s Safe School Initiative Award of
Excellence for Alabama State Board of Education District 7. Schools were selected as winners
from seven* Alabama State School Board of Education districts, as well as private schools for
two regions of the state.
“I am pleased to carry forward an important tradition of the Attorney General’s Office,
to recognize schools throughout our state for dedication and excellence in keeping students
safe,” said Attorney General Marshall. “Each day that parents leave their children at school,
they are entrusting what they hold most precious into the care of schoolteachers, principals and
other staff. With these awards, we honor those who have achieved particularly high standards
and set examples that others may follow. We are grateful for their service and commitment to
protecting the children of Alabama.”
“The Attorney General’s Office is proud that Forest Hills Elementary School was
selected as one of the nine winning schools in Alabama for 2016,” said Attorney General
Marshall. “In making this decision, judges noted many things that distinguished Forest Hills
Elementary School: the Fresh Lifelines for Youth program, certified ‘go bags,’ kindness
revolution bracelets, and an overall plan that is well-laid out, easy to follow and all-inclusive.”
“It is such an honor to receive the Safe School Award for our district!” said Dr. Michael
South, principal. “Children deserve a safe, happy learning environment. Safety has always been
a priority and will continue to be a priority for Forest Hills Elementary School. We have recently
made changes to our safety plan and partnered with local emergency response agencies and our
PTO. Through those partnerships, we provided the training and materials necessary to properly
safeguard and serve our students in the event of an emergency. School safety is a team effort
that involves all stakeholders.”
Attorney General Marshall is presenting awards for the 2016 Safe School Awards of
Excellence winners to the nine winning schools during April and May. Other winning schools
throughout the state include Bob Jones High School in Madison County, Moody High School in
St. Clair County, Helena Middle School in Shelby County, Pike County High School, Orange
Beach Elementary School in Baldwin County, Opelika Middle School in Lee County, Advent
Episcopal School in Jefferson County and Coosa Valley Academy in Shelby County.
*Alabama has eight public school districts but no submissions were received from District 4, nor was one
received for a southern district private school.
501 Washington Avenue * Montgomery, AL 36104 * (334) 242-7300