Home >

April 13, 2017

For More Information, contact:
Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199
Steven T. Marshall
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Page 1 of 1
Alabama Attorney General

(MONTGOMERY) – Attorney General Steven T. Marshall today presented Helena
Middle School with the 2016 Attorney General’s Safe School Initiative Award of Excellence for
Alabama State Board of Education District 3. Schools were selected as winners from seven*
Alabama State School Board of Education districts, as well as private schools for two regions of
the state.
“I am pleased to carry forward an important tradition of the Attorney General’s Office,
to recognize schools throughout our state for dedication and excellence in keeping students
safe,” said Attorney General Marshall. “Each day that parents leave their children at school,
they are entrusting what they hold most precious into the care of schoolteachers, principals and
other staff. With these awards, we honor those who have achieved particularly high standards
and set examples that others may follow. We are grateful for their service and commitment to
protecting the children of Alabama.”
“The Attorney General’s Office is proud that Helena Middle School was selected as one
of the nine winning schools in Alabama for 2016,” said Attorney General Marshall. “In making
this decision, judges noted many things that distinguished Helena Middle School: its tip line,
practices of drills, safe zones, daily staff meetings, controlled access doors, participation of
outside law enforcement agencies and extensive training for faculty and staff.”
“We are extremely honored to be receiving this prestigious award for the second year in
a row,” said Principal Scott Knight. “This award is for our whole community. Student safety is
a top priority for our mayor, city council, police, and fire departments. They do a great job
supporting the schools in Helena. I am also proud of the work of our Assistant Principal
Jennifer Cofer and School Resource Officer Ken Lowery on developing and implementing our
school safety plan. Finally, a lot of credit goes to our faculty, staff, and students for recognizing
the importance of our safety drills.”
Attorney General Marshall is presenting awards for the 2016 Safe School Awards of
Excellence winners to the nine winning schools during April and May. Other winning schools
throughout the state include Orange Beach Elementary School in Baldwin County, Opelika
Middle School in Lee County; Pike County High School in Pike County, Moody Middle School
in St. Clair County, Forest Hills Elementary School in Lauderdale County, Bob Jones High
School in Madison County, Advent Episcopal School in Jefferson County and Coosa Valley
Academy in Shelby County
*Alabama has eight public school districts but no submissions were received from District 4, nor was one
received for a southern district private school.
501 Washington Avenue * Montgomery, AL 36104 * (334) 242-7300