Home >

April 20 2017

For More Information, contact:
Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199
Steven T. Marshall
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Page 1 of 1
Alabama Attorney General

(MONTGOMERY) – Attorney General Steven T. Marshall today presented Pike County
High School with the 2016 Attorney General’s Safe School Initiative Award of Excellence for
Alabama State Board of Education District 5. Schools were selected as winners from seven*
Alabama State School Board of Education districts, as well as private schools for two regions of
the state.
“I am pleased to carry forward an important tradition of the Attorney General’s Office,
to recognize schools throughout our state for dedication and excellence in keeping students
safe,” said Attorney General Marshall. “Each day that parents leave their children at school,
they are entrusting what they hold most precious into the care of schoolteachers, principals and
other staff. With these awards, we honor those who have achieved particularly high standards
and set examples that others may follow. We are grateful for their service and commitment to
protecting the children of Alabama.”
“The Attorney General’s Office is proud that Pike County High School was selected as
one of the nine winning schools in Alabama for 2016,” said Attorney General Marshall. “In
making this decision, judges noted many things that distinguished Pike County High School:
the active participation of first responders and local law enforcement, incorporation of
emergency drills into lesson plans, clearly articulated counseling opportunities for students and
great variety of prevention efforts.”
“First, I would like to give credit to James Oliver, our school safety director, for his hard
work and dedication to ensuring our school safety plan is up-to-date and readily available to all
stakeholders,” said Principal Willie Wright. “Secondly, I would like to thank my Assistant
Principal, Shondra Whitaker, and Mr. Oliver for the time and effort they put into applying for
the Attorney General’s Safe School Award of Excellence. Our faculty and staff believe in
providing our students with a safe learning environment, and I am proud that Pike County
High is being recognized for our team effort.”
Attorney General Marshall is presenting awards for the 2016 Safe School Awards of
Excellence winners to the nine winning schools during April and May. Other winning schools
throughout the state include Helena Middle School in Shelby County, Orange Beach
Elementary School in Baldwin County, Opelika Middle School in Lee County, Moody Middle
School in St. Clair County, Forest Hills Elementary School in Lauderdale County, Bob Jones
High School in Madison County, Advent Episcopal School in Jefferson County and Coosa
Valley Academy in Shelby County.

*Alabama has eight public school districts but no submissions were received from District 4, nor was one
received for a southern district private school.
501 Washington Avenue * Montgomery, AL 36104 * (334) 242-7300