Home >

April 3, 2018

For More Information, contact:
Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199
Steve Marshall
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Page 1 of 1
Alabama Attorney General

(MONTGOMERY) – Attorney General Steve Marshall today presented Opelika Middle
School for the second year in a row with the Attorney General’s Safe School Initiative Award of
Excellence for Alabama State Board of Education District 2. Schools were selected as winners
for 2017 from seven* Alabama State School Board of Education districts, as well as private
schools for three regions of the state.
“In these times, we are all intensely aware of the serious responsibility our schools carry
for the safekeeping of our children,” said Attorney General Marshall. “Recent events have been
heartbreaking reminders that we must remain vigilant and committed to provide the best
protections possible in Alabama’s schools. I am pleased to carry on this important tradition of
the Attorney General’s Office, to recognize schools throughout our state for dedication and
excellence in keeping students safe. Each day that parents leave their children at school, they
are entrusting what they hold most precious into the care of schoolteachers, principals, school
resource officers and other staff. With these awards, we honor those who have achieved
particularly high standards and set examples that others may follow. We are grateful for their
service and commitment to protecting the children of Alabama.”
In presenting the award today Attorney General Marshall said, “The Attorney General’s
Office is proud that Opelika Middle School was selected as one of the 10 winning schools in
Alabama for 2017. In making this decision, judges noted many things that distinguished
Opelika Middle School: excellent procedures for making sure all students are accounted for
following a drill or actual emergency; outstanding use of traditional and social media to keep
parents and community leaders informed, and local collaboration that allows advanced law
enforcement tactical teams to train within the school building.”
“Safety is always of the utmost importance for our school,” said Principal Keith
York. “We have a diligent faculty and staff that work hard each day to create a safe and positive
learning environment. We are honored to be recognized again by the Attorney General with
the Alabama Safe Schools Award.”
Attorney General Marshall is presenting awards for the 2017 Safe School Awards of
Excellence winners to the 10 winning schools during April and May. Other winning schools
throughout the state include Satsuma High School in Mobile County, Nichols-Lawson Middle
School in Talladega County, Pine Level Elementary School in Autauga County, Austin High
School in Morgan County, Simmons Middle School in Jefferson County, Bob Jones High School
in Madison County, Sumiton Christian School in Walker County, Coosa Valley Academy in
Shelby County and The Lakeside School in Barbour County.
*Alabama has eight public school districts but no submissions were received from District 4.
501 Washington Avenue * Montgomery, AL 36104 * (334) 242-7300