Home >

April 21, 2016
For More Information, contact:
Luther Strange
Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199
Alabama Attorney General
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Page 1 of 1

(MONTGOMERY) – Attorney General Strange today presented Coosa Valley Academy
in Harpersville with the 2015 Attorney General’s Safe School Initiative Award of Excellence for
private schools in the central region of Alabama. Schools were selected as winners from seven*
Alabama State School Board of Education districts, as well as three private schools for each
region of the state.
“The Alabama Safe Schools Initiative Awards of Excellence are presented to schools that
have performed exceptionally to provide a safe environment for students, with special
emphasis on implementation of the Best Practices my office compiled based on previous
recipients,” said Attorney General Strange. “I’m pleased that Coosa Valley Academy was
selected as one of the 10 winning schools in Alabama for 2015. In making this decision, the
judges noted many things that distinguished Coosa Valley Academy: each classroom has an
Emergency Go Bag, strong physical security standards are in place, and parents were engaged
in planning of school safety procedures. I am honored to personally present the safe schools
award to Coosa Valley Academy.”
“Coosa Valley Academy has received the Alabama Safe Schools Initiative 2015 Award of
Excellence for a private school in the central region from Attorney General Luther Strange,”
said Headmaster Pamela Lovelady. “Harpersville City Police Chief Jimmy Macon was
instrumental in developing and enhancing current safe school policies. Many organizations
were involved in the implementation of Coosa Valley Academy’s School Safety Program
including the Harpersville Police Department and Mayor Theoangelo Perkins, the Shelby
County Emergency Management Agency, the Coosa Valley Board of Directors and staff.
Receiving this award is an honor and an inspiration for our school, our students, and our
parents to continue to strive for excellence in ensuring a safe educational environment for all.
This process will be ongoing as we continue to meet demands for school safety.”
Attorney General Strange is personally presenting the awards for the 2015 Safe School
Awards of Excellence winners to the 10 winning schools during April and May. Other winning
schools throughout the state include Orange Beach Elementary School in Baldwin County,
Opelika High School in Lee County, Helena Middle School in Shelby County, Monroe County
High School in Monroe County, Oak Park Middle School in Morgan County, Hewitt-Trussville
High School in Jefferson County, Cedar Hill Elementary School in Limestone County, Riverhill
School in Lauderdale County and Lakeside School in Barbour County.
*Alabama has eight public school districts but no submissions were received from District 4.
501 Washington Avenue * Montgomery, AL 36104 * (334) 242-7300