Home >

April 17, 2019

Media inquiries only, contact:
Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199
Steve Marshall
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Page 1 of 1
Alabama Attorney General

Attorney General Steve Marshall Presents Decatur High School
With 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence
(MONTGOMERY) – Attorney General Steve Marshall today presented Decatur High School
with an Attorney General’s Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence for State Board of
Education District 6. Schools were selected as winners for 2018 from each of the eight state
school board districts as well as private schools for each* state region.
“In these times, we are all intensely aware of the serious responsibility our schools carry for the
safekeeping of our children,” said Attorney General Marshall. “The Alabama Safe Schools
Awards of Excellence is an important tradition of the Attorney General’s Office, to recognize
schools throughout our state for dedication and excellence in keeping students safe. With these
awards, we honor those who have achieved particularly high standards and set examples that
others may follow. We are grateful for their service and commitment to protecting the children
of Alabama.”
In presenting the award today Attorney General Marshall said, “The Attorney General’s Office
is proud that Decatur High School was selected as one of the 10 winning schools in Alabama for 2018.

In making this decision, judges noted many things that distinguished Decatur High
School: an excellent and very detailed safety program; strong collaboration among the school
resource officer and emergency agencies; an innovative school resource officer; and the
backpack program through which the school and community work together to provide food for
students in need.”
Dr. Johnny Berry, principal, said, “We are honored to receive this award from the state attorney
general. It is always our goal to provide our students with a safe and secure learning
environment. I applaud our Decatur High School staff for all of their hard work in this very
important process.”
Attorney General Marshall is presenting awards for the 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of
Excellence winners to the 10 winning schools this spring. Other winning schools throughout
the state include Orange Beach Elementary School in Baldwin County, Richland Elementary
School in Lee County, Nichols-Lawson Middle School in Talladega County, Prattville Junior
High School in Autauga County, Eastwood Middle School in Tuscaloosa County, Hewitt-
Trussville Middle School in Jefferson County, Morris P-8 School in Madison County, Saint
James School in Montgomery County and the Lakeside School in Barbour County.
*No submissions were received this year for a private school in the Northern region of Alabama.

501 Washington Avenue * Montgomery, AL 36104 * (334) 242-7300