Home >

April 17, 2019

Media inquiries only, contact:
Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199
Steve Marshall
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Page 1 of 1
Alabama Attorney General

Attorney General Steve Marshall Presents Hewitt-Trussville Middle
School with 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence
(MONTGOMERY) – Attorney General Steve Marshall today presented Hewitt-Trussville
Middle School with an Attorney General’s Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence for State
Board of Education District 7. Schools were selected as winners for 2018 from each of the eight
state school board districts as well as private schools for each* state region.
“In these times, we are all intensely aware of the serious responsibility our schools carry for the
safekeeping of our children,” said Attorney General Marshall. “The Alabama Safe Schools
Awards of Excellence is an important tradition of the Attorney General’s Office, to recognize
schools throughout our state for dedication and excellence in keeping students safe. With these
awards, we honor those who have achieved particularly high standards and set examples that
others may follow. We are grateful for their service and commitment to protecting the children
of Alabama.”
In presenting the award today Attorney General Marshall said, “The Attorney General’s Office
is proud that Hewitt-Trussville Middle School was selected as one of the 10 winning schools in
Alabama for 2018. In making this decision, judges cited a great overall safety plan, noting many
things that distinguished Hewitt-Trussville Middle School: strong collaboration with local law
enforcement and emergency officials, excellent crisis management preparation and training,
great utilization of school resource officers, and outstanding mentoring initiatives.”
Dr. Lisa Berry, principal, said, “I am so appreciative of the Attorney General’s Safe Schools
Award for our school, district, and community. It truly takes teamwork on a daily basis. Our
students and staff are our top priority each day and we work diligently to provide a safe,
supportive, and academically excellent environment where we not only focus on physical
safety, but social and emotional safety too. I am very appreciative of the support we receive
from our superintendent, Dr. Pattie Neill, our Board of Education, Trussville Police and Fire,
our mayor and city council, and our parents.”
Attorney General Marshall is presenting awards for the 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of
Excellence winners to the 10 winning schools this spring. Other winning schools throughout
the state include Orange Beach Elementary School in Baldwin County, Richland Elementary
School in Lee County, Nichols-Lawson Middle School in Talladega County, Prattville Junior
High School in Autauga County, Eastwood Middle School in Tuscaloosa County, Decatur High
School in Morgan County, Morris P-8 School in Madison County, Saint James School in
Montgomery County and the Lakeside School in Barbour County.
*No submissions were received this year for a private school in the Northern region of Alabama.
501 Washington Avenue * Montgomery, AL 36104 * (334) 242-7300