Home >

April 16, 2019

Media inquiries only, contact:
Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199
Steve Marshall
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Page 1 of 1
Alabama Attorney General

Attorney General Steve Marshall Presents Saint James School
With 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence
(MONTGOMERY) – Attorney General Steve Marshall today presented Saint James School with
an Attorney General’s Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence for a private school in the
central region of Alabama. Schools were selected as winners for 2018 from each of the eight
state school board districts as well as private schools for each* state region.
“In these times, we are all intensely aware of the serious responsibility our schools carry for the
safekeeping of our children,” said Attorney General Marshall. “The Alabama Safe Schools
Awards of Excellence is an important tradition of the Attorney General’s Office, to recognize
schools throughout our state for dedication and excellence in keeping students safe. With these
awards, we honor those who have achieved particularly high standards and set examples that
others may follow. We are grateful for their service and commitment to protecting the children
of Alabama.”
In presenting the award today Attorney General Marshall said, “The Attorney General’s Office
is proud that Saint James School was selected as one of the 10 winning schools in Alabama for 2018.

In making this decision, judges noted many things that distinguished Saint James School:
strong collaboration with law enforcement and local emergency officials, excellent crisis
management preparation and training, and strong mentoring initiatives.”
Dr. Larry McLemore, Head of School, said, “The faculty and staff of Saint James School are very
honored to be recognized by Alabama Attorney General Steve Marshall. The Safe Schools
Initiative Award of Excellence that the Attorney General is presenting us represents our
ongoing work on safety and our focus on extensive research, crisis training, detailed planning,
and effective implementation at Saint James,” he continued. “Safety is always our top priority
for our students, our faculty, and our entire school community. It is a responsibility that is
never complete. We are always in a process of continuing to learn, grow, and expand our safety
plans at school with a focus on creating the safest learning environment possible.”
Attorney General Marshall is presenting awards for the 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of
Excellence winners to the 10 winning schools this spring. Other winning schools throughout
the state include Orange Beach Elementary School in Baldwin County, Richland Elementary
School in Lee County, Nichols-Lawson Middle School in Talladega County, Eastwood Middle
School in Tuscaloosa County, Decatur High School in Morgan County, Hewitt-Trussville
Middle School in Jefferson County, Morris P-8 School in Madison County, Prattville Junior
High School in Autauga County and the Lakeside School in Barbour County.
*No submissions were received this year for a private school in the Northern region of Alabama.
501 Washington Avenue * Montgomery, AL 36104 * (334) 242-7300