Home >

April 18, 2019

Media inquiries only, contact:
Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199
Steve Marshall
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Page 1 of 1
Alabama Attorney General

Attorney General Steve Marshall Presents The Lakeside School
With 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence
School Receives This Honor for the Third Time
(MONTGOMERY) – Attorney General Steve Marshall today presented The Lakeside School
with its third Attorney General’s Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence for a private school
in the Southern region of Alabama. The school previously received this honor for the years 2015
and 2017, and now again for 2018. Schools were selected as winners for 2018 from each of the
eight state school board districts as well as private schools for each* state region.
“In these times, we are all intensely aware of the serious responsibility our schools carry for the
safekeeping of our children,” said Attorney General Marshall. “The Alabama Safe Schools
Awards of Excellence is an important tradition of the Attorney General’s Office, to recognize
schools throughout our state for dedication and excellence in keeping students safe. With these
awards, we honor those who have achieved particularly high standards and set examples that
others may follow. We are grateful for their service and commitment to protecting the children
of Alabama.”
In presenting the award today Attorney General Marshall said, “The Attorney General’s Office
is proud that The Lakeside School was selected as one of the 10 winning schools in Alabama for 2018.

In making this decision, judges noted many things that distinguished The Lakeside
School: excellent collaboration with law enforcement and emergency agencies, strong crisis
management preparation and training, outstanding mentoring initiatives, and excellent
education about drug abuse and bullying prevention.”
Head of School John Mehaffey said, “It is an honor for The Lakeside School to be recognized
again by the Attorney General for our continued work in creating and maintaining a safe school
environment. I commend Susan Hudspeth, our Dean of Students, for her excellent work in
preparing and submitting the Safe Schools Report. In addition, our student body, faculty, staff,
and Board of Trustees play a vital role as they support our efforts in making school safety a
priority at The Lakeside School.”
Attorney General Marshall is presenting awards for the 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of
Excellence winners to the 10 winning schools this spring. Other winning schools throughout
the state include Orange Beach Elementary School in Baldwin County, Richland Elementary
School in Lee County, Nichols-Lawson Middle School in Talladega County, Eastwood Middle
School in Tuscaloosa County, Decatur High School in Morgan County, Hewitt-Trussville
Middle School in Jefferson County, Morris P-8 School in Madison County, Prattville Junior
High School in Autauga County and the Saint James School in Montgomery County.
*No submissions were received this year for a private school in the Northern region of Alabama.
501 Washington Avenue * Montgomery, AL 36104 * (334) 242-7300