Home >

August, 19, 2013
For More Information, contact:
Luther Strange
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Alabama Attorney General
Claire Haynes (334) 242-7351
Page 1 of 1

(MONTGOMERY) – In April, Attorney General Strange announced that he is reinstituting
the Attorney General’s Safe Schools Initiative with a new emphasis on encouraging technological
advances to deal with the challenges experienced by today’s schools and students. Nominations
were received between April and June, and in August a panel of judges reviewed the
nominations to determine a winner from each of the eight state school board districts.
“Ensuring safe schools for our students has never been more important,” said Attorney
General Strange. “Special emphasis is being placed on the use of technology to ensure that our
schools are safe. Every school who submitted a nomination will receive feedback from our panel
of judges on how to enhance their school safety plan.”
The Attorney General’s Office, in coordination with the State Departments of Education
and Public Safety, the Alabama Criminal Justice Information Center, the State Fire Marshal’s
Office, and the Alabama Association of School Resource Officers will be releasing the “Alabama
Safe School Initiative: Best Practices” list.
“I took great pride in personally acting as a judge for the Safe School Awards, and I saw a
lot of good things happening in Alabama’s schools. I believe that this is the perfect opportunity to
share information on the newest and best practices being used in school safety,” said State
Superintendent of Education Dr. Thomas R. Bice.
Attorney General Strange expressed special thanks to the Alabama Farmers Federation
and Alfa Insurance for their continued support of the Alabama Safe Schools Initiative. Awards
will be personally presented this fall to the eight winning schools by Attorney General Strange.

Below is a list of the eight recipients of a 2013 Attorney General’s Safe School Initiative
Award of Excellence for each State School Board district:

District 1, Orange Beach Elementary, Orange Beach
District 2, Pleasant Home School, Andalusia
District 3, Redland Elementary School, Wetumpka
District 4, Homewood High School, Homewood
District 5, Blountsville Elementary School, Blount County
District 6, Eastwood Elementary School, Decatur
District 7, Leeds High School – Jefferson County
District 8, Challenger Middle School, Madison
501 Washington Avenue Montgomery, AL 36104 (334) 242-7300