Home >

March 19, 2019

For More Information, contact:
Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199
Steve Marshall
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Page 1 of 1
Alabama Attorney General

Attorney General Steve Marshall Announces Winners
of 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Awards of Excellence
(MONTGOMERY)óAttorney General Steve Marshall today announced the winners of the 2018
Alabama Safe Schools Initiative Awards of Excellence. Last week, a panel of independent
judges met at the Attorney Generalís Office to review submissions from 94 schools throughout
Alabama, a record number since the program began in 2002 and twice the number received last
year. Winners were selected from each of the eight state school board districts as well as private
schools for each* state region.

ìIn these times, we are all intensely aware of the serious responsibility our schools carry for the
safekeeping of our children,î said Attorney General Marshall. ìThe Alabama Safe Schools
Awards of Excellence is an important tradition of the Attorney Generalís Office, to recognize
schools throughout our state for dedication and excellence in keeping students safe. Each day
that parents leave their children at school, they are entrusting what they hold most precious
into the care of schoolteachers, principals, school resource officers and other staff. With these
awards, we honor those who have achieved particularly high standards and set examples that
others may follow. We are grateful for their service and commitment to protecting the children
of Alabama.î
Awards will be personally presented by Attorney General Marshall during the next several
weeks to the winning schools. Below is a list of the 10 recipients of a 2018 Attorney Generalís
Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence for the state school board district and state regions
for private schools:

District 1, Orange Beach Elementary School, Orange Beach, Baldwin County;
District 2, Richland Elementary School, Auburn, Lee County;
District 3, Nichols-Lawson Middle School, Sylacauga, Talladega County;
District 4, Eastwood Middle School, Cottondale, Tuscaloosa County;
District 5, Prattville Junior High School, Prattville, Autauga County;
District 6, Decatur High School, Decatur, Morgan County;
District 7, Hewitt Trussville Middle School, Trussville, Jefferson County;
District 8, Morris P-8 School, Huntsville, Madison County;
*Private School, Northern Region, no submissions were received this year;
Private School, Central Region, Saint James School, Montgomery, Montgomery County:
Private School, Southern Region, The Lakeside School, Eufaula, Barbour County.

501 Washington Avenue ? Montgomery, AL 36104 ? (334) 242-7300