Home >

May 10, 2019

Media inquiries only, contact:
Mike Lewis (334) 353-2199
Steve Marshall
Joy Patterson (334) 242-7491
Page 1 of 1
Alabama Attorney General

Attorney General Steve Marshall Presents Nichols-Lawson Middle School
With 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence
School Receives This Honor for Second Year in a Row
(MONTGOMERY) – Attorney General Steve Marshall today presented Nichols-Lawson Middle
School with an Attorney General’s Safe Schools Initiative Award of Excellence for State Board of
Education District 3, for the second year in a row. Schools were selected as winners for 2018 from
each of the eight state school board districts as well as private schools for each* state region.
“In these times, we are all intensely aware of the serious responsibility our schools carry for the
safekeeping of our children,” said Attorney General Marshall. “The Alabama Safe Schools Awards
of Excellence is an important tradition of the Attorney General’s Office, to recognize schools
throughout our state for dedication and excellence in keeping students safe. With these awards, we
honor those who have achieved particularly high standards and set examples that others may
follow. We are grateful for their service and commitment to protecting the children of Alabama.”
In presenting the award today Attorney General Marshall said, “The Attorney General’s Office is
proud that Nichols-Lawson Middle School was selected again as one of the winning schools in
Alabama for outstanding school safety. In making this decision, judges cited many things that
distinguished Nichols-Lawson Middle School: strong collaboration with local emergency officials
and law enforcement; great education on drug abuse, bullying and cyber-bullying prevention; and
outstanding effort and commitment for the school safely plan.”
Principal Gary Rivers said, “Nichols-Lawson Middle (NLMS) is grateful to be chosen for the second
year in a row as a recipient of the Attorney General’s Safe School Award. NLMS is a safe and
effective school that is orderly, resolute, professional, and works on a continuous basis to improve
safety, security, and learning for all. NLMS believes that students, teachers, and administration
must learn the art of team work and building in structures for collaboration in order to have an
environment that is conducive to teaching and learning. This type of collaboration and support
could not be possible without the coalition of our school board, local police and fire departments,
EMA, school staff and community.”
Attorney General Marshall is presenting awards for the 2018 Safe Schools Initiative Award of
Excellence winners to the 10 winning schools this spring. Other winning schools throughout the
state include Orange Beach Elementary School in Baldwin County, Morris P-8 School in Madison
County, Richland Elementary School in Lee County, Prattville Junior High School in Autauga
County, Eastwood Middle School in Tuscaloosa County, Decatur High School in Morgan County,
Hewitt-Trussville Middle School in Jefferson County, Saint James School in Montgomery County
and the Lakeside School in Barbour County.
*No submissions were received this year for a private school in the Northern region of Alabama.
501 Washington Avenue * Montgomery, AL 36104 * (334) 242-7300